The Chairs seek to favor the exchange, in different segments of research, among the chairmen (renowned researchers in the global scene) and groups of researchers at the UFMG. Its particularity, within IEAT’’s proposal, is to ally cutting edge themes, on an international scale, to novel approaches with transdisciplinary potential. As well as the lectures and seminars, the chairs will generate publications in which different aspects of transdisciplinarity are brought together.

The Chair Program propitiates the permanence at the UFMG, for a period from seven to sixty days, of experienced researchers who, with a solid background and disciplinary career, may stimulate and give incentive to studies at the interfaces of the disciplines. Several academic, teaching and research activities are developed in close disciplinary interaction with groups linked to the theme in which the chairman works, and with the university community in general, which lead to the development and dissemination of the theme and transdisciplinarity. In return, the IEAT offers compensation for services rendered, travel expenses, accommodation, and operational support for the chair.


The FUNDEP/IEAT Chairs are focused on the three main areas of knowledge – Life Sciences; Natural Sciences and Technologies; Humanities, Letters and Arts and funded by the Research Development Foundation of UFMG.

Roger Keil (2023)

Gary Anderson (2022)

Marina Garone Gravier - Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (2019)

Christophe Olivier Douville - Université Paris Nanterre (2019)

António Costa Pinto - Universidade de Lisboa (2019)

Armando Malheiro - Universidade do Porto (2018)

Christian du Tertre - Université Paris Diderot – Paris VII (2018)

Andreas Philippopoulos-Mihalopoulos - Universidade de Westminster (2018)

Sam Turner - Newcastle University (2018)

Graham Fairclough - Newcastle University (2018)

Cristina Parente - Universidade do Porto (2018)

François Sauvagnat - Université de Rennes II (2018)

Denis Laborde - École des Hautes Études em Sciences Sociales (2018)

Carl Steinitz - Havard Graduate School of Design (2017)

Maria Giuseppina Muzzarelli - Universidade de Bolonha (2017)

Ernesto Venturini - Università degli Studi dela Repubblica di San Marino (2017)

Lupicinio Íñiguez-Rueda - Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (2017)

Claus Clüver - Indiana University, Bloomington (2017)

Vinicius Mariano de Carvalho - King’s College London (2016)

Jørgen Bruhn - Universidade Linnæus (2016)

Claudia Storti - Università degli Studi di Milano (2016)

Augustin Holl - Universidade de Paris-Ouest Nanterre La Défense (2016)

Yves Schwartz - d’Aix-Marseille Université (2016)

John van Breda - Universidade de Stellenbosch (2016)

Antonio Pinelli - Università degli Studi di Firenze (2015)

Tukufu Zuberi - Universidade da Pensilvânia (2014)

José da Silva Horta - Universidade de Lisboa (2013)

Esteban Castro - Universidade de Newcastle (2013)

Ash Amin - Universidade de Cambridge (2013)

Davi Kopenawa - Hutukara Associação Yanomami (2013)

John McCombie - Universidade de Cambridge (2012)

Rainer Guldin - Università della Svizzera Italiana (2012)

Marcelo Wanderley - Universidade McGill (2011)

Jean Lave - Universidade da Califórnia (2011)

François Hartog - École de Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales (2011)

Maria Manuela - Universidade de Chicago (2011)

Timothy Ingold - University of Aberdeen (2011)

Lauren Weingarden - Universidade do Estado da Flórida (2010)

Christopher Glyn Sinha - University of Portsmouth (2009)

Ann Marilyn Strathern - Universidade de Cambridge (2009)

Ann Markusen - Universidade de Minnesota (2008)

Marc Leman Universidade de Ghent (2007)

Eduardo V. De Castro - Museu Nacional da UFRJ (2005)

Jean-Louis Comolli - Cineasta Francês (2005)


The CALAS-IEAT Chairs is a program promoted by the Maria Sibylla Merian Center for Advanced Latin American Studies (CALAS) and the Institute of Advanced Transdisciplinary Studies (IEAT) of the Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG).


The Chairs of Ibero-Latin American Studies are financed by the Santander group and operated by the IEAT and FUNDEP.


The Ford Foundation Chairs had as their theme: criminality, violence and public policies. Funded by the Ford Foundation, these chairs had the support of the IEAT, FUNDEP and indications from the CRISP – Center for the Study of Criminality and Public Security at UFMG.